The Pakistani Dream

I am 32, I have a caring wife and two adorable children, a family that is always there for me, well educated in engineering, a job that pays well and has respect, I drive a nice car,wear which I can afford, friends are there as always and my lovely sweet home which my father had provided for us by the Almighty’s blessing and his hard work.

Yeah! Seems like a dream and believe me it is a dream which any one would want BUT did I mention my country anywhere there, certainly not because all that is my dream and not the Pakistani Dream. Why because Pakistan had nothing to do with all that being there; I know some may disagree whilst saying without the country this would not have been possible and that’s true but ironically Pakistan didn’t make my dream come true, it was my family and myself who made it true and possible. Believe me, I am as patriotic as any soldier on the frontiers of our homeland but when I refer to Pakistan I most definitely mean the system it is being run by and the ignorance which has been the leader of the nation for the last 66 years now. My father and Pakistan are of the same age and if only Pakistan was run on his ideology of being patient and rational and straight at least we would have achieved something steadily the way he achieved all in his life, it is a metaphor off course but true.
I have all the things I need in life but am I living the dream in which I can contribute to my nation, certainly not because they would not let me have the patriotism flourish in my heart. They want me to be a slave to the system.
I want to live the Pakistani dream where Iqbal saw the Muslims to flourish and Quaid delivered to have a nation where a muslim and a human can live. The dream of being free and not tormented by the worries of how the country would survive rather put a whole lot of effort in making life better for the family. But here each and every day is a torture for a middle class man or woman. If a guy wants take home something for the kids the price would not let him, if the wife  demands something the budget constraints are a barrier, if they want to take the children out for some fresh air the threat of being bombed or shot would put chains to their feet. Its not just about the prices and the affordability, Pakistanis have proved to be the most giving nation in the world even if they are poor, one would like to be in a sense of security and our people can even bare the hardships of money being scarce as well. Its all about being on the safe side of things. I am living a good life but how many of my country men are living the same, even I am living on an income far far less than the people ruling this country, Why?
I don’t want a big house or countless money I just need security in terms of my life, my children’s future and my family’s survival. I cannot demand the leaders not to earn for themselves, but there is a limit and when the limit crosses you bite other’s bread and we Pakistanis have not been given our whole bread our entire lives.
Jinnah said:
”I am confident that in spite of its magnitude, we shall overcome this grave crisis as we have in our long history surmounted many others and notwithstanding the efforts of our enemies, we shall emerge triumphant and strong from the dark night of suffering and show the world that the State exists not for life but for good life”.
Living a dream is not the wealth of the world that can be earned it is the opportunity which a nation captures on time and we have not done that since.

About ENGINEERED~LIFE
Civil Engineer, Blogger, Entrapreneur

One Response to The Pakistani Dream

  1. lalarukh1 says:

    I loved reading this ! I am a true Pakistani too just got back from commenting over a post of some American saying bad words abut Pakistan 😛 I hope a lovely life for you…and I hope Pakistan would come out of misery ! InshAllah !
    Do check me out at http://foodpeopleloveandstuff.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

